Manage backups and snapshots
There are two ways to backup your server instance, both methods will create a snapshot of your servers disk which can then be restored to a new server in case something goes wrong, or if you just wish to change plan size or move to a different location.
As the name suggests, a snapshot is created instantly (if enough storage space can be allocated, otherwise you may see an error message). Each snapshot has a price of 20% of the server cost and you will be charged for the time the snapshot exist. Billing stops as soon as the snapshot is removed. The advantages with snapshots are:
- Can be created at any time of your choice
- Never expires as long as you have enough funds in your account
This can be enabled during server creation for a price of 20% of the server price. Automatic backups are snapshots created on a regular schedule. Billing stops immediately when the server instance is removed. The advantages with backups are:
- Will expire in 7 days, and continue to exist even if the server instance itself is removed
- Will never run out of space, snapshots may fail to create if not enough space in available.
- Created automatically on a schedule, don't lose your work just because you forgot to create a snapshot